Now Reading:
Republic Day 2018 : 10 Asian leaders who will be the honorable guests this year!
Full Article 4 minutes read

India celebrates it’s Republic day on 26th January every year, marking the day when the Constitution was formed. On this day, Delhi sees a mesmerizing parade showcasing a variety of talent by different people. A day when we realize how diverse yet one our nation is.


“On 26 January, the arrival of great leaders of 10 nations of the world as a unit is a matter of pride for all Indians.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said on ‘Mann ki Baat’ on 21st January 2018 further adding that this republic day would be remembered through ages. The government for the first time in history will be hosting leaders from 10 ASEAN countries this republic day.

First, let us see what these ASEAN countries mean. ASEAN stands for Association of Southeast Asian Nations. This includes Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Brunei. It is a regional intergovernmental organization comprising of these ten nations. Geographically, ASEAN covers an area of 4.4 square kilometers which is 3% of the total area on earth.

For the first time, instead of just one, India will be hosting ten chief guests this republic day. So, let’s take a look at who these guests are going to be.

Najib Razak


Sixth and current Prime Minister of Malaysia, he took office on 3rd April 2009.
President of the United Malays National Organisation, the leading party in Malaysia’s ruling Barisan Nasional coalition, he is the eldest son of Abdul Razak Hussein, the second Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Rodrigo Duterte


The head of state and head of government of Philippines, the president is the commander in chief of the Armed forces of Philippines. He is a Filipino lawyer and politician and 16th and current President of Philippines, the oldest to take this presidency.

Hun Sen


President of Cambodian People’s Party and member of parliament for Kandal, he is the current Prime Minister of Cambodia. Serving on this post since 1985, he is the world’s longest serving Prime Minister and one of the longest serving leaders in the world.

Hassanal Bolkiah

He is the current Sultan of Brunei. Being the eldest son of Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien III and Raja Isteri, he is also the obligatory Prime Minister of Brunei. He is also the Head of government and holds portfolios of Minister of Defense and Minister of Finance.

Joko Widodo


Also known by the name of Jokowi, he since 2014, is the President of Indonesia. He also holds the record of being the first president without any political or military background.

Thongloun Sisoulith


A member of Lao People’s revolutionary party, he became the Prime Minister of Laos in 2016. He has also served as Minister of foreign affairs, Minister of Labour and Social welfare and has been a member of national assembly in the past.

Aung San Suu Kyi


A Noble Peace Prize winner, she is also a politician, diplomat, and an author. She is the first state counsellor and the leader of National League for democracy.

Lee Hsien Loong


He is the current and third Prime Minister of Singapore serving since 2004. Being the current leader of People’s Action Party, he led his party to victory in 2006, 2011 and 2015 general elections.

Prayuth Chan-o-cha


He is the head of National Council for Peace and Order and former Commander in Chief of the Royal Thai Army, along with being the current Prime Minister of Thailand.

Nguyễn Xuân Phúc

The current Prime Minister of Socialist Republic of Vietnam, he is also a full member of National Assembly as per the tradition followed in Vietnamese politics.

Republic day every year is a gala affair, with a variety of mesmerizing performances showcased from people of diverse fields. A day that makes every Indian learn a little bit more about their own country.


Input your search keywords and press Enter.